Dept of Physics

The Department of Physics started functioning in the college way back in 1981 with the pre-degree course. In the beginning, physics classes were conducted in the parish hall of St. John’s Catholic Church, Vadakara. In 1993, the department was upgraded as an undergraduate department offering B.Sc Physics with Chemistry and Mathematics as subsidiary subjects. The department has a well-equipped laboratory for graduate students. Every year the department conducts remedial classes for the SC/ST students. A vibrant and enthusiastic Physics Association has been functioning in the department and it has been organizing various curricular and co-curricular activities. The department of Political Science started functioning from the very beginning of the College in 1981. In 1999, BA Degree Course in Economics was started and the Principles of Political Science was introduced as a subsidiary subject. Under CBCSS, Political science is being taught in the Third and Fourth Semesters, B.A Economics Programme. We have introduced the tutorial system for improving the academic and mental standards of students. The department has been associating with the activities of the department of economics, especially with the Tutorials, Counselling and Mentoring System.


Dr. Radhakrishnan A.N